Getting down to business…


My save-for-the-last minute method has seemed to work for me thus far. I thrive off the pressure of a deadline.  I don’t consider it “procrastination,” more like “preventing perfectionism.”
 
What does that mean?  I think about each task before I even start it. I know what I want to do:  I make to-do lists, jot down notes, come up with ideas in my head. Yet, for some reason I leave the actual assignment/task/project until the last-minute.  By that point, I’m forced to disregard my perfectionist ways and get it done in the time crunch.  
 
If this sounds completely strange to you, it’s because it is. 
 
Why would a perfectionist leave something to the last-minute, when there is no longer time to make it perfect?  I don’t completely understand it myself.  Although, I think it’s because I’m afraid to start something that I know won’t be flawless. Obviously, I stress in the time crunch, but the outcome is always the best thing I could create in that time limit. (And, more often than not, it turns out better than my expectations.)
 
For some reason, this method works. For me. Don’t try this at home, kids.
 
True to nature, I came up with the idea to make my own business cards about 4 days before the Stylesight Live event in the city. Then, I worked all weekend and missed the hours at Paper Source, the store where I wanted to get my supplies. Needless to say, I got the supplies with less than 2 days to make my cards. Yet, as always, I love the finished product! Let me know what you think:
 

My working station and supplies: grid mat, scrapbooking tape, scrapbooking blade, felt tip marker, pencil, business card size cardstock, white cardstock, and printed paper

The finished products: the back side of the cards is the blue and white pattern

A closer shot: each card varies a little because of the flower pattern and my handwriting

All my supplies came from the Paper Source in Princeton

In other news, ONE WEEK UNTIL I”M IN LONDON! I’m a bit excited. Cheers!  Thanks for reading =)

One thought on “Getting down to business…

Leave a Reply

